Smedmore House stands in the centre of the Estate bounded by an attractive walled garden with views down to the sea. The original Jacobean house of Sir William Clavell was embellished in 1760 with a charming Queen Anne front of twin bows with facade between them. Inside the rooms have character: the Cedar Room handsomely decked with oak panelling, the dining room enriched with plaster-work panels and around the hall are busts of famous classical characters. The House is divided in several parts allowing domestic staff to live independently on site.
The house is expensive to maintain being a Grade II listed building and so is open to the public each spring and autumn and also available for holiday lets, weddings and other events as well. A beautiful location and perfect setting for a private and memorable occasion. For more detailsclick here